Night & Nothing Series

Thorn Jack by Katherine Harbour

Book 1

Briar Queen by Katherine Harbour

Book 2

Nettle King by Katherine Harbour

Book 3

“Readers drawn to faerie lore will enjoy this lush, romantic tale.”
Kirkus Reviews
“Harbour finds some new ground in this twisty, contemporary re-telling of the oft-retold Scottish ballad ‘Tam Lin.'”
Publishers Weekly
“Katherine Harbour’s storytelling is nothing short of masterful!”
Fresh Fiction
“These books are goblin fruit: dark, sweet, and addictive.”
—Seanan McGuire
“Harbour makes love, suffering, and sacrifice the most poignant parts of her worlds, and readers with even the barest knowledge of fairy lore and legends will be pulled deep into this tale of sharp magic and its ruthless children.”
Publishers Weekly
“…an engaging and entertaining story, offering mystery, frights, young romance, and a chance to brush up on your mythology.”
—Fantasy Book Critic

Thorn Jack

Book 1

They call us things with teeth. These words from Lily Rose Sullivan the night of her death haunt her seventeen-year-old sister, Finn, who has moved with her widowed father to his hometown of Fair Hollow, New York. After befriending a boy named Christie Hart and his best friend, Sylvie Whitethorn, Finn is invited to a lakeside party where she encounters the alluring Jack Fata, a member of the town’s mysterious Fata family. Despite Jack’s air of danger and his clever words, Finn learns they have things in common.

One day, while unpacking, Finn finds her sister’s journal, scrawled with descriptions of creatures that bear a sinister resemblance to Jack’s family. Finn dismisses these stories as fiction, but Jack’s family has a secret—the Fatas are the children of nothing and night, nomadic beings who have been preying on humanity for centuries—and Jack fears that his friendship with Finn has drawn the attention of the most dangerous members of his family—Reiko Fata and vicious Caliban, otherwise known as the white snake and the crooked dog.

Plagued with nightmares about her sister, Finn attempts to discover what happened to Lily Rose and begins to suspect that the Fatas are somehow tied to Lily Rose’s untimely death. Drawn to Jack, determined to solve the mystery of her sister’s suicide, Finn must navigate a dangerous world where nothing is as it seems.

Briar Queen

Book 2

Down the rabbit hole…

As Finn and Jack attempt normal lives, the Fatas, now temporarily ruled by Reiko’s lieutenant Phouka, remain on the fringes. Finn’s friends, Christie and Sylvie, are learning they can’t ignore the Fata world either, as Christie fights his attraction to Phouka and Sylvie is haunted by the Black Scissors, the wanderer cursed by the Fatas.

When Finn helps a mysterious young man named Moth, who has no memory but carries a charm bracelet that had belonged to Finn’s sister Lily Rose, Finn learns that her sister’s strange suicide might have been a Fata trick.

Then a Fata called the Wolf king arrives in Fair Hollow, seeking Finn and Jack. He tells them he has Lily Rose—and to come find him in the Ghostlands.

Led by Moth, Finn and Jack, followed by Sylvie and Christie, must travel into the perilous and feudal Ghostlands—which shadow the true world—to find Lily Rose. And they learn that there is a terrible price to be paid for bringing someone back.

Nettle King

Book 3

When her beloved Jack disappears, Finn vows to find him—even if it means a daring odyssey into the land of the dead. But saving Jack comes at a terrible price: a dangerous fissure has opened, giving the dead access to the true world.

The lines between worlds are more blurred than ever. Finn’s sister, Lily, recently returned from the Ghostlands, seems to bear no scars from her time there. But then their friend Moth returns from Sombrus, the magical house once owned by Seth Lot, bearing shocking news. Something evil—a fearsome creature bearing a striking resemblance to Jack—has escaped Sombrus and is now stalking Fair Hollow, killing everyone it encounters, transforming them into terrifying Jacks and Jills and recruiting the Unseelie.

It will not stop until it gets what it wants . . .

Sign up for Katherine's Newsletter: